Happy Mondays, or why we need to reboot regularly

I’ve had some long weekends and holidays lately and had to start over on Monday, or Tuesday which is not all that different, like today. I was surprised to find out that it is not as bad as I thought. I’d go to sleep Sunday worrying about the shock awaiting me the next day, thinking I’d fall asleep at the computer, or have a hard time getting the hang of things. Fortunately, it was much easier. As I got on the train for my daily commute I was already changing my mood, and as I entered the office and turned on the PC, it was truly a new day and it felt like one. I saw things in a new light and had a new energy to deal with them. Fresh ideas came to me, and I was better at switching points of view and being creative. And relaxed. And focused.

But not all Mondays are like that. Maybe I need to rest enough on weekends to have a Monday like that? Who knows. I sure have to figure out the trick of it.

The New Year is also a big mega Monday. I’m starting to get all these New Year resolution ideas and have to remind myself not to exaggerate with expectations of myself. This is going to be a year of balance, then! No more torturing myself with perfectionism. I’ll learn to allow myself to see myself and the world from my own point of view, and live my life as such – mine.

Click for more musings on the subject šŸ™‚ and have a great New Year full of Great Happy Mondays!I don’t party much on the New Years’ Eve. I usually don’t happen to have good occasions or ideas for celebrating on that day and I don’t care for having fun on demand. But it does have a meaning for me. I try not to over think it, worrying about the passing of time and such, after all, time passes every second, not only on midnight of December 31th. But there is a sense of closure. One can draw conclusions and also draw plans. One can let go of weights and loops and dispersions, and gain new energy from it. It’s one huge Happy Mega Monday.

Yet the important thing to remember is that life, work and coding are a marathon and not a sprint. Whatever happens, on good days or on bad days, try not to let anyone waste your energy with guilt and manipulation and stress. It would be too unhealthy. And unproductive.

So, do I love mondays? Sometimes. I love new energy. I love feeling concentrated and fresh. But I also have to find the balance and learn to love it, too. I need to really discover living in the present and rebooting my moods frequently.

And I wish the same to you too!

About apprenticecoder

My blog is about me learning to program, and trying to narrate it in interesting ways. I love to learn and to learn through creativity. For example I like computers, but even more I like to see what computers can do for people. That's why I find web programming and scripting especially exciting. I was born in Split, Croatia, went to college in Bologna, Italy and now live in Milan. I like reading, especially non-fiction (lately). I'd like to read more poetry. I find architecture inspiring. Museums as well. Some more then others. Interfaces. Lifestyle magazines with interesting points of view. Semantic web. Strolls in nature. The sea.
This entry was posted in motivational, musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

