Better communication through introversion and solitude

I’m back. Sort of.

I’ve been busy rediscovering introversion, silence and solitude. Some activities require them, like learning, coding, learning to code.

I’m not going to discuss the paradox of coding as both a solitary and team/community activity, or get into the topics of communication, documentation, teamwork, that is for later.

I was inspired, among other influences, by a TED Talk by Susan Cain entitled “The power of introverts”  which is short and very interesting.

.This world we live in is very concentrated on appearances and clustering and peer pressure an that can dumb you down and disperse your energies. But that is also part of being human, since us humans have traveled a long way since we have discovered the advantage of hunting in “teams” for our survival. We have been tribes, guilds, nations, and lately even target groups divided by taste and purchase habits.

We, as humans, need to “hunt in packs” but we also need to move away from the tribe sometimes and invent something useful for everyone. Or even simply have fun playing with our Lego or Code.

Plus I need to rediscover what I need. And right now part of that is to read, learn and code.

I’m coming up with a way to keep using this blog or some other blog as a tool compatible with introversion and all of that.

For instance, the more code I write and more things I learn by myself, the more interesting my blog posts and tweets and other communications will be. I will have deeper and more concrete words to share.

So, see you later.

About apprenticecoder

My blog is about me learning to program, and trying to narrate it in interesting ways. I love to learn and to learn through creativity. For example I like computers, but even more I like to see what computers can do for people. That's why I find web programming and scripting especially exciting. I was born in Split, Croatia, went to college in Bologna, Italy and now live in Milan. I like reading, especially non-fiction (lately). I'd like to read more poetry. I find architecture inspiring. Museums as well. Some more then others. Interfaces. Lifestyle magazines with interesting points of view. Semantic web. Strolls in nature. The sea.
This entry was posted in learn-from-mistakes, learn-to-learn, musings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

